Leaving My Lubitel

It’s been fun between us. I’m going to miss it.

I’m not going to sell it or trade it, but keep it as a treasure and a back-up. Mainly why I am getting the Yashica Mat-124 is night photography. Doing research, I found that usually the best way to start night photography would be to shoot at an f-stop of 5.6 and a shutter speed of 1/8 sec. Unfortunately, apart from B, the slowest my Lubitel could go was at 1/16 sec. Due to the importance of the shutter speed for night photography, I had to get myself a new 35mm camera. Well, not really new. The last one I had, a Nikon F80 was advanced but it was all-automatic, and I’m a fan of manual control.

I bought a Nikon FM2 and sold my F80, using the FM2 mainly for night shots while looking around for a replacement for my Lubitel. I considered Rolleicords and Rolleiflexes, though they are hard to find around town despite rumoured prices of less than $100 for the former, while the latter is still being made but costs around or above $5,000. I finally managed to settle with the Yashica Mat-124G, the latest and last TLR ever produced by Yashica, from St. Catharine’s for $225. As I wait for its arrival, I’ll continue to use the FM2 until I’m done with the last 35mm roll that I have. Then hello again, 120! And 220! 😀

Leave a Reply

